Managing Deployments

Fleet Command allows you to update locations, applications, and deployments using the web UI.

Updating a Location

NVIDIA regularly releases updates to the Fleet Command stack. If an update is available, a message will display in the Location showing an older version is running. Administrators should monitor and update Locations to the latest version when applicable to ensure that the latest features and security updates are implemented.

The Location software stack can be updated from Fleet Command using over-the-air (OTA). OTA updates apply to all systems under specific locations.

Important

When a Location is updating, applications may stop running, and no new deployments to the Location will be possible.

Note

Prior to updating your location, review the Kubernetes Deprecated API Migration Guide to ensure your application is up to date with the Kubernetes API.

  1. To update your Location, click on the ellipsis in the upper right of a Location.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-03.png
  2. Select the update version, check the box, and click update.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-04.png

Updating a Deployment

If the application supports changing the Helm configuration, users can edit the configuration when Deployment is created.

  1. To edit an existing Deployment, click Edit Deployment using the ellipsis and enter a new Application Configuration.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-07.png ../_images/managing-your-setup-08.png
  2. Click Deploy to update the configuration.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-09.png

Note

The Application needs to support configuration changes to reconfigure.

Removing a Deployment

  1. If you want to learn more about your deployments, click the drop-down arrow for individual deployment before removing them.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-10.png
  2. To remove a deployment, use the ellipsis on the right side of the deployment and select Remove Deployment.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-11.png

Removing an Application

You can remove an application from the Applications page by following the steps below.

  1. To remove an application, click on the ellipsis in the bottom right of an application.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-01.png
  2. Click the remove button to complete the task.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-02.png

Note

To prevent orphaned applications and deployments, Applications cannot be removed if used in a Deployment. The Deployment needs to be removed first.

Removing a System

  1. To remove a System, click on the system ellipsis and select Remove System.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-06.png
  2. Click Remove to complete the System removal.

    ../_images/managing-your-setup-12.png
    • If the remote console session is active, you will be prompted with the below pop-up

      ../_images/managing-your-setup-13.png

Note

You cannot remove a System assigned as a master-worker System if there are worker Systems present on the Location.

Removing a Location

To remove a location, click on the ellipsis for a location.

../_images/managing-your-setup-05.png

Note

To prevent orphaned Deployments and Systems and to ensure that applications are explicitly disabled, there are specific parameters around removing Locations:

  • Locations cannot be removed if there is an active deployment at the location (the deployment must be removed first).

  • Locations cannot be removed if there are systems assigned to the location (the systems must be removed first).

  • All workers must be removed before a master-worker can be removed.

  • Systems can only be removed if they are not part of a deployment.