Managing your Fleet

Fleet Command allows you to update locations, applications, and deployments using the web UI.

NVIDIA regularly releases updates to the Fleet Command stack. When an update is available, a message appears in the location to indicate that an older version is running. Administrators should monitor and update locations to the latest version when applicable to ensure that the latest features and security updates are implemented.

The location software stack can be updated from Fleet Command using over-the-air (OTA). OTA updates apply to all systems at a location.

Important

When a location is updating, applications can stop running and you cannot add new deployments to the location.

Note

Before you update a location, review the Kubernetes Deprecated API Migration Guide to ensure your application is up to date with the Kubernetes API.

  1. Select Fleet Command > Locations and then click the location from the table.

  2. On the location details page, click the actions button and select Update Location.

    update-edit-location-menu.png


  3. In the Update Location dialog, select the update version, check the box, and click Update.

    update-location-dialog-ann.png


You can make the following changes to an existing deployment:

  • Add or remove locations.

  • Updating an application.

  • Modify the application configuration if the application supports Helm configuration changes.

After you make the updates, you need to redeploy the application. Redeploying the application only affects the locations that you modified. Unmodified locations, whether online or offline, are not impacted.

Adding or Removing Locations

Follow these steps to add or remove a location of a deployment.

  1. Select Fleet Command > Deployments.

  2. On the Deployments page, on the row for the deployment, click the actions button and select Edit Deployment.

    update-deployment-menu.png

  3. On the Edit Deployment page, select or clear the checkboxes in the Select Locations table.

  4. Select Before Deploy and then click Deploy to redeploy your changes.

Updating an Application

After you create a deployment, you can update the associated application or the application configuration.

Note

Updating the application can result in a disruption to any processes or remote sessions that are in progress.

Follow these steps to update an application or the application configuration for a deployment.

  1. Select Fleet Command > Deployments.

  2. On the Deployments page, on the row for the deployment, click the actions button and select Edit Deployment.

    update-deployment-menu.png

    • Use the Application menu to select a different application.

      Note

      Check that your application supports configuration changes beforehand.

    • Update the application configuration field.

  3. Click Deploy to save your changes and re-deploy.

  1. Select Fleet Command > Deployments.

  2. On the Deployments page, on the row for the deployment, click the actions button and select Remove Deployment.

  1. Select Fleet Command > Applications.

  2. On the Applications page, click the options button for the application and select Remove.

    fc-applications-remove.png


Note

To prevent orphaned applications and deployments, you cannot remove an application that is referenced by a deployment. Remove the deployment first.

  1. Select Fleet Command > Locations and select the location from the table.

  2. On the location details page, click the options menu for the system and select Remove System.

    remove-system-menu-ann.png


  3. On the Remove System window, click Remove to complete the system removal.

    If a remote console session is currently running on this system, the confirmation dialog indicates that a session is active. Make sure that you complete your work before you confirm removing the system.

You cannot remove a system that assigned as a controller-worker if there are worker systems present at the location.

  1. Select Fleet Command > Locations.

  2. Select the actions button for the location and select and select the location from the table.

To remove a location, click on the options button for a location.

remove-location-menu-ann.png

To prevent orphaned Deployments and Systems and to ensure that applications are explicitly disabled, there are specific parameters around removing Locations:

  • Locations cannot be removed if there is an active deployment at the location. Remove the deployment first.

  • Locations cannot be removed if there are systems assigned to the location. Remove the systems first.

  • All workers must be removed before a controller-worker can be removed.

  • Systems can only be removed if they are not part of a deployment.

Previous Getting Started
Next Advanced Features
© Copyright 2022-2024, NVIDIA. Last updated on May 7, 2024.